Leadership and Service Awards Presented to Westminster Community Members

Each year, the Emerson Center for Leadership and Service presents awards to individuals and groups of the Westminster College community that have demonstrated outstanding campus contributions. This year, 14 awards were given to the most deserving students, faculty, and organizations. Feature photo above, Tripti Giri ’15 receives the Winston Churchill Award for Leadership and Service from Vice President and Dean of Student Life Dr. Stephanie Krauth.

English Cup

Awarded to the Westminster College living group with the highest overall grades for the two previous semesters (Spring and Fall 2014)

Recipient: Kappa Alpha Theta

Drosten Cup

Presented to the organization which had the best overall program of community service to the College, state, and nation

Recipient: Kappa Kappa Gamma

Winston Churchill Award for Leadership and Service

Awarded to a graduating senior who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to the Westminster and local community, following Servant-Leader model

Recipient: Tripti Giri ’15 (feature photo above)

Outstanding Student Organization Officer

Recognizing one student’s leadership of a successful campus club, organization, or initiative

Recipient: Steven Sakayroun ’16 of the Westminster Poverty Initiative (photo below, with Dr. Stephanie Krauth)


Newman Civics Fellow

Honors student leaders who inspire others by demonstrating their commitment to making this a better world through service to the campus, local, and global communities

Recipient: Steven Sakayroun ’16

Outstanding Program of the Year

Awarded to a club, organization, or combination of Westminster community members for an outstanding, campus-wide program

Recipients: Project Connect, the African Union, the Diversity Center Offices, and the Campus Activities Board for their success with Black History Month

Outstanding Philanthropic Program

Awarded to one or more campus groups for outstanding philanthropic commitment or service initiative on campus

Recipient: Kappa Kappa Gamma

Outstanding Campus Collaboration

Recognizing an outstanding campus program, sponsored by multiple organizations, for their outstanding teamwork in planning and implementing a program with shared vision and purpose

Recipient: Student Government Association and EcoHouse for their success with the Efficiency Fund

Outstanding Student Organization of the Year

Recognizing a campus organization for successful programming efforts, fiscal responsibility, campus outreach and overall student engagement

Recipient: Campus Activities Board

Outstanding Freshman Leader

Awarded to a first-year student for their outstanding leadership skills, leadership potential, and having made a significant impact their first year

Recipient: Freshman Class President Karley Long ’18 (photo below, with Dr. Stephanie Krauth)


Outstanding Sophomore Leader

Awarded to a second-year student for their outstanding leadership skills, leadership potential, and having made a significant impact their sophomore year

Recipient: Roberta Burns ’17

Outstanding Junior Leader

Awarded to a third-year student for their outstanding leadership skills, leadership potential, and having made a significant impact their junior year

Recipient: Student Government Association President Molly Dwyer ’16 (photo below, with Dr. Stephanie Krauth)


Blue Jay Booster

Recognizing behind-the-scenes, unsung Westminster heroes that are always attending events, exhibiting school spirit on campus, and being loyal Blue Jays

Recipients: Spencer Woodford ’15 (photo below, with Dr. Stephanie Krauth) and biology professor Dr. Jane Kenney-Hunt


Outstanding Commitment to Diversity

Awarded to an individual or campus program which strives to educate the greater campus community on issues of diversity, creating an inclusive environment or tolerance and acceptance for all

Recipient: Intercultural Engagement Fellow Abdullah Al-Hadeethi ’14 (photo below, with Dr. Stephanie Krauth)


Outstanding Advisor

Recognizing an advisor of a campus club or organization who continually goes beyond the call of duty, challenging and supporting their students to do bigger and better things

Recipient: Wellness Center Assistant Director Amanda Stevens (photo below, with Dr. Stephanie Krauth)


Outstanding Campus Citizen

Awarded to individuals who have had a significant impact on many people’s Westminster experience and have changed their lives by simply being a part of it

Recipients: Andrew Flanigan ’16 and Instructor of Religious Studies Reverend Jamie Haskins (photo below, with Dr. Stephanie Krauth)


Living the Mission Award

Awarded to campus community members who live the Mission of the College in their daily work. These individuals demonstrate the four core values of fairness, integrity, respect and responsibility while leading lives of success, significance, and service.

Recipients: Dr. Therese Miller (faculty) and Dr. Kasi Lacey (staff, in photo below with President Forsythe)


Skulls of Seven Loyalty Award

Presented to a citizen of the Westminster community who has made significant contributions to the institution and has demonstrated exceptional passion, service, and above all else, loyalty to the welfare of Westminster College

Recipient: Westminster College President Dr. Barney Forsythe

Westminster College congratulates these award recipients for changing the world of those around them!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Westminster College

This is the editorial account for Westminster College news team. Please feel free to get in touch if you have any questions or comments.